Sevilla, Spain

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ah, Sevilla, the first Spanish city I’ve visited and definitely the one that’s left the best impression on me. Although I visited on a cloudy February Wednesday, I could still picture a city drenched in sunlight, the heat beating town and the cool refreshing shadows of the cobbled alleys. It’s a city made for the Spanish summer, from the light-painted buildings to the wide open spaces, although as an Englishman it was plenty hot enough for me in February.

First of all, I have to mention the Seville Cathedral, or Mary of the See Cathedral. It. Is. Huge. If I took a thousand pictures I wouldn’t have been able to fit it all in. Thankfully, I have some evidence to support the claim- unbeknownst to be at the time, it’s actually the largest Cathedral in the world, and the third largest church. It was built after the Reconquista of Spain in 1401, with the climbable tower 200 years older. It’s the final resting place of Christopher Columbus, the man who rediscovered the Americas, and with the amount of gold decorating the inside of the Cathedral, I could believe it was solely to pay for it.

Another landmark of interest was the Plaza de España, a triumph of lavishness (yes, coming from the country that built London). Built in 1928, the whole area was designed to show off Spanish culture and growth, with each alcove in its huge semicircle rim representing a different region in Spain, and four bridges around a moat representing the four ancient kingdoms of Spain.

1000px-Plaza_de_España_-_Sevilla

In front of it (behind the photographer, if you will) are a huge expanse of tropical gardens, with fountains, seating areas, orange trees and yet more monuments and hide aways.

There are of course a lot more things I could talk about, but hopefully I’ve tweaked your interest!

That’s all for now, if you want to know more just contact us, or wait till the next post, where I’ll be exploring Ronda, Granada and Cordoba.

Ryan

Leave a Reply

